Changes on the Horizon

Changes

I’m starting a new teaching assignment this Monday. I am really excited about it. When I first became a teacher eight years ago, I set out to teach kindergarten. I wanted to follow in the footsteps of my maternal grandmother; she taught the little ones in Cuba as a young woman before marrying and become a mom of seven. Nevertheless, my first teaching assignment was teaching drama and journalism to middle school kids. I then moved on to teach high school. And now, eight years later, I am entering the world of elementary. On Monday, I will embark on a journey with 18 first-graders who live in an impoverished area of my county.

I am excited, hopeful and a little nervous. But more than anything, I am saddened to leave my current fifth graders behind. For reasons I won’t get into, this opportunity presented itself and I couldn’t let it pass me by. I’ve never left my students any earlier than the end of the school year. I will miss my fifth graders, but I will always think of them fondly and pray for them as they will soon embark on their own journeys into middle school and the world beyond.

Teaching is addicting. I am obsessed with my career and where it has taken me; it has truly been a journey like no other. I genuinely get excited every morning as I get ready for work. Thank you, God, for blessing me. I pray that I will always have this fire within me.

3 comments

  1. So exciting! Teaching 1st graders is one of the most rewarding things one will ever do! They are so inquisitive and imaginative and above all, very loving. I taught them for 15 memorable happy years! Enjoy the new journey!

    • I’m back where I started ten years ago actually…in middle school! I’ll be helping to pilot a new program in our county that’s 100% tablet-based learning. Zero textbooks and zero paperwork. I’m pumped!

Leave a Reply

