Friendship Is Sharing Your Cupcake

Sometimes God gives us gifts that come in the form of people. And sometimes these people work with you. My friend Nicki is one of these people, but I did not meet her at work. I have known this wonderful girl since sixth grade. We’ve shared so many memories, and most of them involve me making her laugh (or, if I’m being honest, getting her in trouble- but only when we were kids). Nicki has taught me so much. She’s awesome, and is so much more patient than I’ll ever be. Every time I complain to her about anything, her commentary causes me to rethink my anger. She even fixes my indecision sometimes. On a recent hungry afternoon post-a long day of school with the teenage kids, she drilled me on wedding stuff. “Have you picked this? That? The other?” Hanging my head in shame, I answered, “No. No. No.” After she asked why (three times), I was backed into a corner- and with good reason. I love that she has that effect on me. Don’t all of our greatest friends?

Today the seniors and juniors who are in Debate came back from Boston. One of my most favorite kiddos (Shhh! Don’t tell anyone) brought me a cupcake from Georgetown Cupcakes. Any cupcake aficionado knows that this shoppe may as well have created the cupcake craze that has swept over my heart the country. My first reaction was to burst into Nicki’s classroom (luckily she is one of my neighbors) and show it to her. Wordlessly, we knew it was time to act like a Care Bear…and share. All the kids were there, pretending not to care, but oh-did-they-care.

Image
Kinda looked like this one

Today we taught them that life is sweet. Not because they earned a good grade on a test or made honor roll. But because friendship is really all you need in this life. All forms of love spring from friendship.

I thank my God on every remembrance of you. Philippians 1:3

3 comments

  1. God gave us friends for a reason, so they can help is through our ups and downs

    As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.
    Proverbs 27:17

Leave a Reply

