The Return of the Thick-Heeled Pump

Image

I remember a time when thicker heels were just plain tacky. The skinnier the stiletto, the better. Lo and behold, things have changed. Granted, this doesn’t mean thick heels haven’t ever been in style. I know the seventies, for example, were definitely the thick heels’ heyday. But up until recently, the TH definitely didn’t have a place in my closet.

A few weeks ago, I was at a local playhouse watching Next to Normal with my best friend. (It was amazing!) I ran to the bathroom during intermission, was washing my hands in a rush, but I didn’t fail to notice a beautifully-coiffed middle aged woman who was rocking the TH. I noticed the same trend a few days later at the grocery store. (Can I get a what-what for the women out there who keep their work outfit on to grocery shop! I’m one of them; can you tell?)

Most definitely, I need to invest in a pair of these babies. Now…which color shall I select?

P.S. To my friends who’ve been wondering, “Why is this a fashion blog if she doesn’t write about fashion?” Here you go, loves!

8 comments

  1. I love them! Some of us, who have giant female feet by nature, don’t really care how shoes make our feet look because we don’t really care what others think. Maybe it’s a tall woman thing… I’m sure we have a superiority complex… The way I figure, being 5’11 is a gift coveted by many a woman who dream of being runway models but are simply average, little women… I love being tall and having giant feet that look adorable in any shoe… But then again, I have never been ashamed of myself…

Leave a Reply

